More Comics
Review: Spencer & Locke #3
By Philip Schweier
Jun 21, 2017 - 4:40

Action Lab
Writer(s): David Pepose
Artist(s): Jorge Santiago Jr.
Colourist(s): Jasen Smith
Letterer(s): Colin Bell



Spencer_Locke_003.jpg
Comic books are filled with alter egos. In the case of Detective Locke, it’s Rocketman Reynolds, a high-flying space hero in the vein of Jim Kirk and Flash Gordon. But how real is he? Well, the drugs Locke’s been injected with only do so much. The rest is borne of his own childhood traumas.


Fortunately, there is Spencer, the imaginary friend that helps Locke discern reality from fantasy. But again, he can only accomplish so much when Locke is under the influence of a cocktail of psychotropic hallucinogens.


When this series began, I thought it sweet tribute to a beloved comic strip. Sort of a “What if Calvin & Hobbes grew up?” Yes, what if they did, and lived a world slightly darker than Breaking Bad, and a tad bit more vicious than a Jack Reacher climax.


Unless I am mistaken, the conclusion comes next issue, so there’s still time to hop aboard if crime fiction is your thing. But I hope it’s not the last we see of Spencer & Locke. I’m enjoying this ride, and regret that it may end too soon. But thank you, Pepose and Santiago, for not writing to the trade. Your work is refreshing and I look forward to more.


Rating: 9/10



Related Articles:
Spencer & Locke Creators Look to the Future
Review: Spencer & Locke #4
Review: Spencer & Locke #3
Review: Spencer & Locke #2
Review: Spencer & Locke #1