Comics / Comic Reviews / More Comics

Review: Spencer & Locke #3


SOS.jpg

By Philip Schweier
Jun 21, 2017 - 4:40

Spencer_Locke_003.jpg
Comic books are filled with alter egos. In the case of Detective Locke, it’s Rocketman Reynolds, a high-flying space hero in the vein of Jim Kirk and Flash Gordon. But how real is he? Well, the drugs Locke’s been injected with only do so much. The rest is borne of his own childhood traumas.


Fortunately, there is Spencer, the imaginary friend that helps Locke discern reality from fantasy. But again, he can only accomplish so much when Locke is under the influence of a cocktail of psychotropic hallucinogens.


When this series began, I thought it sweet tribute to a beloved comic strip. Sort of a “What if Calvin & Hobbes grew up?” Yes, what if they did, and lived a world slightly darker than Breaking Bad, and a tad bit more vicious than a Jack Reacher climax.


Unless I am mistaken, the conclusion comes next issue, so there’s still time to hop aboard if crime fiction is your thing. But I hope it’s not the last we see of Spencer & Locke. I’m enjoying this ride, and regret that it may end too soon. But thank you, Pepose and Santiago, for not writing to the trade. Your work is refreshing and I look forward to more.


Rating: 9/10

Support this writer on Patreon


Last Updated: Jun 21, 2017 - 9:38

Join the discussion:

Add a Comment


     Support Philip Schweier on Patreon         Philip Schweier's Twitter        RSS       Mobile       Contact        Advertising       Terms of Service    ComicBookBin


© Copyright 2002-2017, Toon Doctor Inc. - All rights Reserved. All other texts, images, characters and trademarks are copyright their respective owners. Use of material in this document (including reproduction, modification, distribution, electronic transmission or republication) without prior written permission is strictly prohibited. Privacy Policy