Press Releases
2012 Joe Shuster Awards for Canadian Comics Nomination
By The Editor
May 10, 2012 - 10:51

From coast to coast, Canada is home to many of the comic book industry’s top talents, and the JOE SHUSTER AWARDS are a way of recognizing and celebrating their achievements. Since it was established in 2004, the Joe Shuster Award program has been Canada’s national awards program for recognizing the outstanding achievements of Canadian comic book creators, publishers and retailers. The juried awards are named after pioneering Toronto-born artist Joe Shuster who, along with writer Jerry Siegel, created the iconic super-powered hero, Superman.

In April of this year, the nominees were chosen from lists comprising all eligible titles published during the year 2011 *, by Canadian citizens living at home or abroad and Canadian permanent residents **. Now that the nominees have been selected, their works will be evaluated by different juries who will determine winners in each category.

Winners will be announced during a public ceremony on the evening of Saturday, September 15, 2012, at the Montreal Comic Con, which takes place from September 14-16, 2012 at the Palais de Congres (Montreal).

Artist / Artist Team:
 Cover Artist:
Webcomic Creator / Creative Team:
Writer / Writing Team:
The Dragon Award – Comics for Kids

This award recognizes the works which capture the attention and fascination of young readers, and help to create a passion for life-long reading. Works considered for this award are comic books and graphic novels by Canadian creators that are targeted at readers 14 and under. Nominees for this award are selected from the eligible creators lists by a team of educators led by Jennifer Haines, MA, B.Ed., who is also the proprietor of Guelph, Ontario’s The Dragon comic book shop.
Gene Day Award – Self-Publishing

Named after the late Howard Eugene Day (1951-1982), this award honours Canadian comic book creators or creative teams who self-published their work during the previous calendar yearor, but did not have the books distributed by a third party distributor. The nominees were selected from over 50 individual publications submitted for review. The award winner will also receive a bursary of $500.
Harry Kremer Award - Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Retailer

Named after the late Harry Kremer, original owner of Now & Then Books (in Kitchener, Ontario). Shops are recommended by the general public and a separate Retailer Award Committee reviews all materials received and select a short list of stores that has shown merit in a variety of categories such as: (1) Support of a wide variety of innovative material, (2) Overall appeal of the store and usage of space, (3) Knowledge, (4) Community activity, and (5) Adherence to standard ethical business practices.

10 Selected, 5 Finalists will be announced in late July 2012
Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame

Inductee(s) will be announced in late July 2012
Artist, Cartoonist, Cover Artist & Writer Nominees selected by: Jonathan Kuehlein, Laurent Boutin, Jamie Coville, Gareth Gaudin, Patrick Marleau, David Kelly Lloyd Chesney, Eric Bouchard, Martin Dubé, Sarrah Young, Tyler Jirik, Leonard Wong, Jeff Brown, Amy Chop, Mike Jozic, Andrew Uys, Kevin Boyd and Robert Haines. Webcomics Nominees selected by Andrew Walsh, Allison Covey, Tyrone Biljan, Robert Haines, Peter DeCourcy and Kevin Boyd. Gene Day Award Nominees selected by Robert Haines, Kevin Boyd.

Congratulations to all of the nominees and all of the eligible creators for another memorable year of great comics, both in print and online!

Related Articles:
2012 Joe Shuster Awards for Canadian Comics Nomination
2010 Joe Shuster Canadian Comic Book Creator Awards Winners
Additional nominations for the 2010 Joe Shuster Awards
A look at the 2010 Shuster Awards' French-Canadian Nominees
The 2009 Shuster Award Winners
Joe Shuster Award Update
Response To Tom Spurgeon: Copyrights, Superman, and the Estates of Siegel and Shuster
A Look at the Shuster Award's French-Canadian Nominees
Joe Shuster Awards for Canadian Comics 2009 Nominees
Shuster Awards Announce Honor Named for Gene Day