Comics / Comics News

Russ Manning Award Calls for Submissions

By The Editor
March 20, 2009 - 13:11

Above is the cover image for Percy Gloom, the sold out graphic novel from 2008 Russ Manning Award winner, Cathy Malkasian - courtesy of

Manning Award Submissions Due

Comic-Con, the nation’s largest comic book and popular arts convention, announces that submissions are now being accepted for the 27th annual Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award. Started in 1982 as a joint presentation of Comic-Con International and the West Coast Comics Club, this award honors a comics artist who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics.

To qualify for the award, an artist must be a newcomer to the comic field, having had no professional work published prior to January 2004. Exceptions to this rule are:
1. Work done as an unaccredited assistant to another artist
2. Fanzine publications
3. Small press with a print run of 2000 or less
4. A one shot in a new talent anthology comic

In the spirit of revered artist Russ Manning (Tarzan, Star Wars, Magnus Robot Fighter), the most important criteria for selection are storytelling ability, clarity of expression and narrative flow, and illustrative flow. Writing is not a consideration except in a tie. A nominee from last year may be resubmitted if he or she meets the criteria.

Submissions should be sent to: Gene Henderson, Russ Manning Award, 150 S. James, Orange, CA 92869. They can be also e-mailed to Submissions must be in the hands of the award committee no later than April 24.

If the artist’s work is a small press run or not widely circulated, it would be advisable to include a sample of his or her work. (Last year several entries had to be dropped due to lack of work samples.) Unpublished material will be not considered. A sample of the artist’s pencil work would be helpful if the finished work has been inked by another artist.

All submissions will be reviewed by a committee consisting of artists and others knowledgeable in the comics field, who will select the five finalists. The winner will be selected by a blue ribbon panel of comics professionals, including prior Manning Award winners and Russ Manning’s former assistants. Finalists must be prepared to submit 22 copies of their work for consideration by the judges.

The Manning Awards are co-sponsored by the West Coast Comics Club and Comic-Con International: San Diego. The winner of the award will be announced during the Eisner Awards on July 24 at Comic-Con International. More information about the Manning Awards can be found at

Last Updated: August 31, 2023 - 08:12

    RSS       Mobile       Contact        Advertising       Terms of Service    ComicBookBin

© Copyright 2002-2023, Toon Doctor Inc. - All rights Reserved. All other texts, images, characters and trademarks are copyright their respective owners. Use of material in this document (including reproduction, modification, distribution, electronic transmission or republication) without prior written permission is strictly prohibited. Toon Doctor ® is registered trademarks of Toon Doctor Inc. Privacy Policy