Comics / Comic Reviews / More Comics

Intergalactic Nemesis #1


By Philip Schweier
February 14, 2010 - 11:10

Interglacticnemesis_1.jpg
Intergalactic Nemesis is a horror/adventure tale set in the 1930s. Molly Sloan, a journalist is on the trail of... well, the first issue doesn’t really say. The action begins in a remote tavern in the Carpathian mountains before heading to Scotland, to celebrate the birthday of Lord Crawford at his estate, Kradmoor. Accompanied by her young companion, Timmy Mendez, she encounters Mister Mysterion, mesmerist extraordinaire, who is providing the entertainment for the party. As with any mystery, things are not entirely as they seem.

The story is an obvious throwback to the serial era, much in the vein of Sky Captain & The World of Tomorrow. Intrepid female reporters with a lot of moxie, sudden death as a secret is about to be revealed, and spooky settings are elements we’ve all seen before (and frankly, I can never get enough of). While the story has all the right hooks, a little bit of exposition might help bring more readers along for the ride.

Interglacticnemesis_pg8.jpg
The art, while not necessarily my cup of tea, is polished and professional, without being the least bit amateur. Layouts are simple, making the story easy to follow. The colors by Paul Hanley serve it well, and help accent the drama conveyed by the illustrations without being over-powering. For fans of this genre of action, there’s definitely all the right elements, and in a well-assembled package to boot.


Last Updated: December 31, 2019 - 20:28

Join the discussion:

Add a Comment


          RSS       Mobile       Contact        Advertising       Terms of Service    ComicBookBin


© Copyright 2002-2019, Toon Doctor Inc. - All rights Reserved. All other texts, images, characters and trademarks are copyright their respective owners. Use of material in this document (including reproduction, modification, distribution, electronic transmission or republication) without prior written permission is strictly prohibited. Toon Doctor ® is registered trademarks of Toon Doctor Inc. Privacy Policy