Johnny Bullet
Comics News
IDW Publishes New "Tank Girl" Series
By The Editor

May 30, 2008 - 04:03



The creative team responsible for revitalizing Tank Girl in 2007 returns with an all-new miniseries, being released by IDW this month. 

Writer Alan C. Martin, who co-created the property with Gorillaz artist Jamie Hewlett, has returned again to the property he revitalized in last year’s Tank Girl: The Gifting. And in the all-new Tank Girl: Visions of Booga debuting this month, he’s again joined by his collaborators on The Gifting, artist Rufus Dayglo, and cover artist Ashley Wood.

In Visions of Booga, Part 1: Falling Angel Blues, which will arrive in comics shops on May 21,  Tank Girl and her marsupial boyfriend Booga find themselves the victims of the worst run of bad luck ever. The tank has been lost in a wager and the Australian Mafia are after their pelts. Their only hope seems to lie on the other side of the country, with Booga’s estranged little brother. A transcontinental Kerouackian odyssey begins.

Visions of Booga, Part 1, Falling Angel Blues is written by Scottish Borders-based writer Martin, with Dayglo (Snaked) handling interior art duties this time around and acclaimed designer/award-winning artist Ashley Wood providing wraparound covers for all four issues.

“In Visions Of Booga, we are returning to our Beat Generation roots,” said Martin. “We’ve given ourselves a lot more space with the story in this time, running one long epic over the series, which has given the characters the chance to breathe and us the chance to use much broader strokes. There’s still a silly four- or five-page back story at the end of each issue, but the main story is more like a novel. Actually, there is a novel within the story, so it’s a novel within a novel… er… within a comic.”

Tank Girl, Visions of Booga #1 (MAR08 3769), 32 pages, $3.99, to be released in May 2008.

About IDW Publishing
IDW is an award-winning publisher of comic books, graphic novels and trade paperbacks, based in San Diego, California. As a leader in the horror, action, and sci-fi genres, IDW publishes some of the most successful and popular titles in the industry including: television's #1 prime time series CBS’ CSI: Crime Scene Investigation; Paramount's Star Trek; Fox's Angel; Hasbro's The Transformers, and the BBC's Doctor Who. IDW’s original horror series, 30 Days of Night, was launched as a major motion picture in October 2007 by Sony Pictures and was the #1 film in its first week of release.  In April 2008, IDW released Michael Recycle, the first title from its new children’s book imprint, Worthwhile Books. More information about the company can be found at

About Tank Girl
Tank Girl is a British comic character who first appeared in 1988, written by Alan Martin and originally drawn by Jaimie Hewlett.  She was later drawn by Ashley Wood, Rufus Dayglo and Mike McMahon.  Tank Girl was the subject of a 1995 film starring Lori Petty.  But it’s in comics where her adventures truly come to life.


© Copyright 2002-2019 by Toon Doctor Inc. - All rights Reserved. All other texts, images, characters and trademarks are copyright their respective owners. Use of material in this document (including reproduction, modification, distribution, electronic transmission or republication) without prior written permission is strictly prohibited.